St Paraskeva Pyatnitsa Church was the main church of the Borovichi Pyatnitsa commune.
Not far from the church, there was a holy spring, also dedicated to St Paraskeva Pyatnitsa and believed to be able to work wonders.
In the summer of 1613, the church was burnt down by the Swedish army. Several years later, the destroyed church was replaced by a wooden chapel dedicated to St Paraskeva Pyatnitsa.
In 1796, an altar was added to the chapel and the chapel itself was consecrated as St Paraskeva Pyatnitsa Church. The same year is believed to be the founding year of the church that still stands today. The architectural design of the church includes some elements of the older chapel.
In 1937, the church was closed down and the building was handed over to a weavers’ artel. The octagonal tholobate that let in daylight was demolished and the interior destroyed.
In 1960, St Paraskeva Pyatnitsa Church was returned to the religious community. Parishioners moved the gonfalon (khorugvi) and the shrine with St Jacob’s relics, icons and other relics from the closed Assumption Cathedral to St Paraskeva Pyatnitsa Church.
Two altars were consecrated in the renovated church. One was dedicated to St Paraskeva and the other to Assumption of the Theotokos, to commemorate the closed Assumption Cathedral. The tholobate and the dome were rebuilt. The holy water well was also restored but in a different place as the old well was impossible to clean.
For a long time, St Paraskeva Pyatnitsa Church was the only active church in Borovichi.
In November 1996, the church marked its 200th anniversary.
Для этого объекта еще нет отзывов.