This church was built in just three months in 1179 replacing a stone church at one of the largest and wealthiest monasteries in Novgorod. The late 12th century murals vividly reveal the originality of the spiritual aspirations of Novgorodian society at that time. It was here that the wonder-working relics of the Archbishop of Novgorod Theoctist were put to rest after he had lived in the monastery for many years having taken a vow of silence. At the end of the 18th century, his relics were transferred to St George’s Monastery. Visitors have a chance to see the tomb of the saint, which is now open to the public following a restoration.
Для этого объекта еще нет отзывов.