162 km south of Veliky Novgorod on the Redya River
Forest land is the main natural resource of this green zone and the site of the Rdeysky Nature Reserve and the Poddorsky Nature Biological Reserve.
There are five churches in the district, including the Church of the Smolensk Icon of the Mother of God, in Markovo, an architectural landmark of the 18th century. Other attractions are the healing springs of St Andrew the First-called and St Nilus Stolobensky, two sacred Sledovik (footprint) stones, the bend of the Lovat River on the trade route from the Varangians to the Greeks, numerous boulders, including the one near Peregino, which was mentioned in the Gorny Zhurnal (Mining Journal) in 1824, as well as other archaeological landmarks such as burial mounds and graves on the Lovat River dating back to the 8th-13th centuries.
There are 10 military cemeteries and 14 signs commemorating the sacrifices of the Great Patriotic War. The largest of them, Sambatovo Cemetery with graves of over 10,000 servicemen, is located 9 km from Poddorye. In 1942-1944, Sambatovo was located 7-8 km from the frontline in the zone of responsibility of the 1st Shock Army. During the reburial campaign in 1958, the remains of servicemen buried in mass and individual graves in many neighbouring villages were laid to rest at Sambatovo Cemetery, where a solemn gathering is held every year on 9 May.
One of the most attractive natural landmarks is the unique cranberry marsh and the Poddorsky Nature Biological Reserve, which was established to preserve and increase the population of rare and endangered species of wild animals and their habitat, and to maintain the integrity of natural communities in the district.
The list of regional specially protected areas includes the Trofimovsky moss bog. The Church of the Smolensk Icon of the Mother of God (Hodegetria of Smolensk), the only open church in the district, has survived numerous trials and tribulations since 1750. People from neighbouring villages, Leningrad (St Petersburg), Veliky Novgorod and Staraya Russa gather in the church every year on 10 August to celebrate the feast of the Hodegetria of Smolensk.
The healing spring of St Nilus Stolobensky is located on the Redya River 5 km from Poddorye, the site where the holy man stopped to take a rest on his way to Staraya Russa. In gratitude for the kindness of local residents, which made a deep impression on him, he left them a holy spring, which was later named after him.
The spring, which had been ruined during the war on religion, was renovated by the father and son Anatoly and Yury Sigov.
Every year on 9 June, Father Vasily Kiselev of the Church of the Holy Trinity in Poddorye blesses the water of the St Nilus spring.
On 9 June 2003, Archpriest Amvrosy, the parish priest of Staraya Russa, and Father Vasily Kiselev of the Church of the Holy Trinity in Poddorye blessed a chapel in honour of St Nilus.
The holy spring of St Andrew the First-Called is located at the edge of Peregino, where he stopped on his way to the Valaam Island. Believers say that water from the spring has healing property. Old-timers claim that people sometimes saw the icon of The Mother of God in the air near the spring, but it vanished every time they extended their arms to take it. There is a pool near the spring, where you can take a dip.
A project to create the Partisan Camp open-air military history museum was launched near Belebyolka, Poddorsky District, in 2016 to commemorate the partisan movement in the Novgorod Region.
Для этого объекта еще нет отзывов.