government
The Government Of
The Novgorod Region
Tourist portal Novgorod Region novgorod.travel novgorod.travel
About object

The military town of Novoselitsy was established during Alexander I’s reforms, when an attempt was made to turn army recruitment into a permanent military camp system. Alexander I initiated the construction of military towns; this process was led by Count Alexei Arakcheyev. Novoselitsy became the headquarters of the 4th military district hosting the Pernovsky Regiment of the Prussian Crown Prince. Construction in Novoselitsy lasted from 1820 to 1831. All the buildings were organised around a vast rectangular parade ground. The most significant was the drill hall building (Exezierhaus), which was the third biggest following the Moscow and the Mikhailovsky (St Petersburg) drill halls. Major General Lev Carbonier was sent to Novoselitsy to design and oversee the construction of the drill hall. The interior was striking with an enormous space surrounded by arcades and light openings on the sides. The roof rested on wooden trusses with 11 supports and slanted struts as well as a suspension coffered ceiling. The roof was almost totally destroyed by a fire in 1946. In the early 1950s, an interflooring was built and a part of the building was adapted for a training battalion’s barrack and a gym while another part remained unrestored. Only the walls remained and the archways were boarded up. A church was built adjoining the eastern side of the hall while on the northern and southern sides a reserve battalion barrack, a cantonist school and a hospital were built. The officers’ residences, rectangular two-storied red-brick houses, were built around the parade ground. At present the military town of Novoselitsy is the best-preserved early 19th century town and is protected by the state as an architectural monument.

From 1834 to 1866 the town housed Count Arakcheyev’s Novgorod Cadet Corps. The Corps was opened on 15 March 1834 and was paid for by Count Arakcheyev through a contribution to the Imperial Treasury. Practically all the Coprs buildings have been preserved to this day. The next period of the Novoselitsy military town is connected with the deployment of the 87th Neischlot Regiment from 1866 to 1914. In its headquarters, the first and second battalions were deployed to Novoselitsy whereas the third battalion stayed in Bronnitsa. After the October 1917 revolution, detached military units including cavalry, artillery and tank units were deployed there for a lengthy period. From 1915 to 1921, the town hosted the Arakcheyev Military Hospital. The Great Patriotic War has a special place in the town’s history. The frontline was located 10-15 km from the town, to the north of Novoselitsy in the area of Posad-Markovo.

It has been established from various sources that the following were stationed here during that period: an Interior Ministry regiment; headquarters of the 229th rifle division (a commemorative sign to it was erected in Khutyn, Novgorodsky District); the directorate of the army trading organisation; 386th Novgorod night bomber regiment; a number of mobile military hospitals and medical battalions.

The 72nd detached communications training regiment was formed in Novoselitsy from 21 December 1948 to 10 January 1949 as a part of the 13th Air Force Army of the Leningrad Military District. In 1980, the 159th Corporal School was redeployed to Novoselitsy from Samarkand. On 1 November 1981, the 159th (military unit 21733) and 72nd detached communications training regiments of the Air Force (military unit 22558) were transformed into the 834th training centre (signal and electronic support corps of the Air Force) – military unit 22558. Throughout 55 years, the centre has trained 150 officers, 18,000 corporals and 70,000 junior specialists of signal and electronic support corps. They were engaged in all mass events in the regional centre. In 2009, the centre was redeployed to Stavropol.

Write review

10.08.2022 15:59:18

Наталия К.

Посетили экскурсию "Повесть временных лет", остались очень довольны. Программа насыщенная, интересная, познавательная, не утомительная. Побывали в Великом Новгороде, Старой Руссе, Валдай. Очень доброжелательное отношение и высокая отзывчивость гидов. Спасибо огромное за отдых! 3 дня пролетели на одном дыхании. Вернусь сюда обязательно.

Для этого объекта еще нет отзывов.